• placeholder image

The Nature of Love

Simple comme Sylvain

Poster

DIRECTED BY:
MONIA CHOKRI

STARRING:
MAGALIE LÉPINE BLONDEAU
PIERRE-YVES CARDINAL
FRANCIS-WILLIAM RHÉAUME
KARELLE TREMBLAY
STEVE LAPLANTE

COMEDY, ROMANCE / CANADA, FRANCE / 2023 / 111 MINS / MA15+

FRENCH WITH ENGLISH SUBTITLES

As sharp and perceptive as it is funny … A sexy and slightly spiteful examination of romantic passion.

- Screen Daily

Love is unexpected, sensual, funny and complicated in the latest film by French-Canadian writer/director Monia Chokri, who before becoming an internationally-renowned filmmaker, was known for her work as an actress in the films of Xavier Dolan.

Intelligently handled and full of warmth and humour, The Nature of Love delves into what happens when a happily- coupled woman falls in love with somebody else.

Sophia (Magalie Lépine Blondeau, A Brother’s Love), a 40-year-old philosophy professor, is in a long-term stable but somewhat socially-conforming relationship with Xavier, her intellectual equal but a man who is more her best friend than lover.

Sylvain (Pierre-Yves Cardinal, Tom at the Farm) is the working-class contractor hired to renovate their holiday home in the Canadian woods. Despite their vast differences, Sophia and Sylvain share an electrifying, creative, and uncontrollable sexual chemistry and an unpredictable affair begins.  Questioning the nature of monogamy and skewering the conventions of the traditional rom-com, the film radiates with wit and passion.

Filmed with a nod to cheesy romance films of the 70s - think corny music overlays, sentimental montages and exaggerated camera angles - The Nature of Love is in fact wickedly sharp and funny.

Opening / Closing Night
Special Event
CinéWine
From 6 Mar to 2 Apr

Mon

Tue

Wed

Thu

Fri

Sat

Sun

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

1

2

10:30 AM
Thu 7 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
1:20 PM
Thu 7 Mar
Palace Westgarth
3:15 PM
Thu 7 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
6:10 PM
Thu 7 Mar
Kino Cinema
8:50 PM
Thu 7 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
11:00 AM
Fri 8 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
8:10 PM
Fri 8 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
8:15 PM
Sun 10 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
8:30 PM
Sun 10 Mar
Kino Cinema
8:50 PM
Mon 11 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
3:40 PM
Tue 12 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
8:40 PM
Tue 12 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
10:45 AM
Wed 13 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
11:00 AM
Thu 14 Mar
Palace Westgarth
3:50 PM
Thu 14 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
10:45 AM
Fri 15 Mar
Kino Cinema
3:30 PM
Fri 15 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
8:40 PM
Fri 15 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
11:00 AM
Sat 16 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
1:00 PM
Mon 18 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
8:20 PM
Mon 18 Mar
Palace Westgarth
11:00 AM
Tue 19 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
3:45 PM
Tue 19 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
10:40 AM
Wed 20 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
1:10 PM
Wed 20 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
3:20 PM
Thu 21 Mar
Kino Cinema
8:30 PM
Thu 21 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
11:00 AM
Fri 22 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
8:45 PM
Sun 24 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
3:40 PM
Mon 25 Mar
Palace Westgarth
5:45 PM
Mon 25 Mar
Kino Cinema
10:45 AM
Tue 26 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
1:15 PM
Tue 26 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
1:15 PM
Wed 27 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
8:40 PM
Wed 27 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
3:30 PM
Thu 28 Mar
Kino Cinema
6:30 PM
Thu 28 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
CINÉWINE: CANADA NIGHT
8:40 PM
Thu 28 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
11:00 AM
Sat 30 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
8:50 PM
Sat 30 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
8:30 PM
Sun 31 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
8:45 PM
Sun 31 Mar
Palace Westgarth
8:50 PM
Sun 31 Mar
Palace Cinema Como

Recommendations
Film
Sidonie in Japan
Sidonie au Japon
Film
Suddenly
Soudain seuls
Film
Along Came Love
Le temps d'aimer
SELECT YOUR CITY
STAY IN TOUCH