• placeholder image
  • placeholder image
  • placeholder image
  • placeholder image

The President's Wife

AUSTRALIAN PREMIERE
Poster

DIRECTED BY:
LÉA DOMENACH

STARRING:
CATHERINE DENEUVE
DENIS PODALYDÈS
MICHEL VUILLERMOZ
SARA GIRAUDEAU
LAURENT STOCKER (COMÉDIE FRANÇAISE)

COMEDY, BIOPIC / FRANCE / 2023 / 93 MINS / M

FRENCH WITH ENGLISH SUBTITLES

A tale of female 'empowerment', Bernadette is a chronicle of the Chirac years, with delightful gags and bright colours.

- Marie Claire

Legendary French actress Catherine Deneuve plays Bernadette Chirac in this uproarious comedy based on actual events.

1995, Jacques Chirac is elected President of the French Republic. When Bernadette Chirac steps into the Elysée, she's ready for the recognition she's earned, having tirelessly supported her husband's journey to the presidency. Instead, she finds herself set aside and brushed off as old-fashioned, cold and sour-tempered. With the help of her chief of staff, Bernard Niquet (Denis Podalydès, Rise, AF FFF23) Bernadette embarks on a campaign to restore her reputation and assert her role as first lady.

In her debut film, documentarian Léa Domenach skilfully blurs the lines between fact and fiction, presenting a captivating portrait of an unexpected feminist icon. The President's Wife is a delightful tapestry of satire, whimsical musical numbers, and vibrant visuals, offering a heart-warming celebration of Bernadette Chirac's resilience and wit.

You will find yourself smiling, laughing, and empathising with this delightful character, flawlessly personified by the wonderful Deneuve. The President's Wife is a must-see in this year’s lineup!

Lumiere Awards - Nominated for Best Actress

Opening / Closing Night
Special Event
CinéWine
From 6 Mar to 2 Apr

Mon

Tue

Wed

Thu

Fri

Sat

Sun

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

1

2

6:30 PM
Thu 7 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
6:30 PM
Thu 7 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
6:00 PM
Fri 8 Mar
Kino Cinema
6:15 PM
Fri 8 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
10:40 AM
Sat 9 Mar
Palace Westgarth
11:20 AM
Sat 9 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
5:40 PM
Sat 9 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
6:30 PM
Sat 9 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
10:45 AM
Sun 10 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
10:50 AM
Sun 10 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
3:45 PM
Sun 10 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
6:25 PM
Sun 10 Mar
Kino Cinema
1:10 PM
Mon 11 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
6:40 PM
Mon 11 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
1:20 PM
Tue 12 Mar
Palace Westgarth
4:00 PM
Tue 12 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
6:20 PM
Tue 12 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
10:40 AM
Wed 13 Mar
Kino Cinema
4:20 PM
Wed 13 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
8:40 PM
Wed 13 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
4:00 PM
Thu 14 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
6:30 PM
Thu 14 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
LADIES' NIGHT
8:45 PM
Thu 14 Mar
Kino Cinema
1:40 PM
Fri 15 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
6:00 PM
Fri 15 Mar
Palace Westgarth
6:30 PM
Fri 15 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
6:10 PM
Sat 16 Mar
Kino Cinema
10:45 AM
Sun 17 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
10:50 AM
Sun 17 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
1:00 PM
Sun 17 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
1:10 PM
Sun 17 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
6:20 PM
Sun 17 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
11:00 AM
Mon 18 Mar
Kino Cinema
10:50 AM
Tue 19 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
1:10 PM
Tue 19 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
6:30 PM
Tue 19 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
8:30 PM
Tue 19 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
3:50 PM
Wed 20 Mar
Kino Cinema
6:00 PM
Wed 20 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
6:10 PM
Wed 20 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
8:30 PM
Wed 20 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
8:40 PM
Wed 20 Mar
Palace Westgarth
10:45 AM
Thu 21 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
6:15 PM
Thu 21 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
1:10 PM
Fri 22 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
3:45 PM
Fri 22 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
6:20 PM
Sat 23 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
11:00 AM
Sun 24 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
12:45 PM
Sun 24 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
3:40 PM
Sun 24 Mar
Palace Westgarth
4:15 PM
Sun 24 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
6:00 PM
Sun 24 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
6:20 PM
Sun 24 Mar
Kino Cinema
6:15 PM
Mon 25 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
8:30 PM
Mon 25 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
11:00 AM
Tue 26 Mar
Kino Cinema
11:00 AM
Tue 26 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
6:00 PM
Tue 26 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
6:20 PM
Tue 26 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
10:45 AM
Wed 27 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
1:20 PM
Wed 27 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
3:45 PM
Wed 27 Mar
Palace Westgarth
11:15 AM
Thu 28 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
1:10 PM
Thu 28 Mar
Kino Cinema
1:15 PM
Thu 28 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
4:00 PM
Fri 29 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
6:10 PM
Fri 29 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
8:00 PM
Fri 29 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
1:20 PM
Sat 30 Mar
Palace Brighton Bay
6:00 PM
Sat 30 Mar
Pentridge Cinema
6:00 PM
Sat 30 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
8:40 PM
Sat 30 Mar
Palace Westgarth
10:30 AM
Sun 31 Mar
Kino Cinema
10:30 AM
Sun 31 Mar
Palace Cinema Como
3:50 PM
Sun 31 Mar
Palace Balwyn Cinema
6:20 PM
Sun 31 Mar
Palace Penny Lane
11:00 AM
Mon 1 Apr
Palace Cinema Como
1:10 PM
Mon 1 Apr
Pentridge Cinema
3:45 PM
Mon 1 Apr
Palace Brighton Bay
10:40 AM
Tue 2 Apr
Palace Westgarth
11:00 AM
Tue 2 Apr
Palace Balwyn Cinema
11:10 AM
Tue 2 Apr
Palace Penny Lane
6:10 PM
Tue 2 Apr
Kino Cinema
8:20 PM
Tue 2 Apr
Palace Brighton Bay

Recommendations
Film
A Great Friend
Les Choses simples
Film
A Difficult Year
Une année difficile
Film
Jeanne du Barry
Jeanne du Barry
SELECT YOUR CITY
STAY IN TOUCH